Skip Navigation Links
About Us
Our Services
Course we Deal
By Career
Contact Us
Home >> State Detail >> University List >> Sri Venkateswara University
Sri Venkateswara University
Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati, was established in 1954, in the famous temple city of Tirupati, South India, under the auspices of Late Tanguturi Prakasam Pantulu, the then Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, and with support of Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams. The University was started with six departments of Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Botany, Zoology, Economics and Philosophy initially.


With a sprawling campus of nearly 1000 acres (6 km²) ,one of the largest universities in India,and buildings of majestic beauty and architectural splendor whose architect was the famous Mokshagundam Visvesvarayya.

The University has eight constituent colleges concerning various conventional and advanced subjects. The University has 58 departments, wherein 71 different PG courses and several Diploma and Certificate courses are being run with a total academic faculty strength of 400 and 1500 non-teaching and a student strength of 5000, including research scholars.

Centers of learning

The University has various centers of learning covering different branches of higher education

College Of Engineering

Sri Venkateswara University College of Engineering is an autonomous institution whose foundation was laid by the late Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India, on 13 October 1959. Since then, it has become a premier technological institution in India.

Centre for Studies in Peace and Non-violence

The purpose of the Centre is, in general, to study peace and non-violence in their widest context. The Centre has collaboration with Gandhi Smriti and Darsan Samithi, New Delhi (Government of India); the International Centre for Gandhian Studies and Research, Government of India, New Delhi; Shiksha Mandal, Wardha, National Foundation for Communal Harmony, Government of India, New Delhi; and the University of Notre Dame, U.S.A.

Department of Law

The University has a department of law providing higher education in the field of law.

Department of Physics

The University has a separate department of Physics. Department offers M.Sc.(2 yrs), Integrated M.Sc.(5* yrs) in Physics , M.Tech (2 yrs) in Energy Management M.Phil and Ph.D Programs. The Faculty members of the department are actively engaged in research in thrust areas of Physics which include Atmospheric Physics, Laser and Integrated Optics, Condensed Matter Physics, Electronics and Solar Physics.KLJJKJH

Department of Natural Sciences

This is the Natural Sciences department of the University.

Department of Library and Information Science

the Department of Library and Information Science at Sri Venkateswara University was started in the year 1974 and has been preparing library and information science professionals for more than 30 years. Presently the Department is offering Master of Library and Information Science ( two year integrated course) under CBCS, with four semesters. Besides this the department also running Doctoral degree leading to Ph. D and M.phil courses as Full time and part-time. The department is ahead in research and training in library and information science, having expertisation in various fields of LIS. Admissions are done through an SVUCET admission Test, every year. the intake strength is 20 and 5 seats allotted additionally under self financing scheme. the stuents will get the fellowships, scholarships etc. hostel facility is available to all the students. the reservation policy is followed as per the rules of the Government of Andhra Pradesh.

Dept of library and Information Science : Prof Dr D CHANDRAN, Mobile : +91-94401 90250

SVU library

Sri Venkateswara University Library which was started in the year 1955 to serve the needs of the students, researchers and teachers of the University Colleges, has a total membership of 6397. Housed in a spacious building with a seating capacity for about 400 readers, the library has 25 professionals and 50 administrative and supporting staff. It has a total collection of 2,95,000 volumes which includes 35,000 bound volumes of journals and nearly 3500 theses and dissertations. It currently subscribes to 350 current periodicals at an annual cost of 12 lakhs of rupees, and its annual budget is nearly 56 lakhs.

The library provides services such as lending of books, reference and bibliographic service, reprographic service. Library has micro-film readers, Audio-Video systems, slide projector and public address system.

The Special Features of the Library are:

• a fully equipped Binding Section
• a Small Children's wing which was opened in the Gandhi centenary year 1969.

Currently the library is gearing itself for Computerization, and is participating in the INFLIBNET Program.

The library has the honour of hosting the following national conference and seminars:

• ILA 18th Annual Conference in December,1969.
• INDAAL 2nd Annual conference in January, 1980.
• UGC Seminar on use of Microforms and Space Management in Libraries in August,1984.
• IASLIC 16th Annual Conference in December, 1987.
• Seminar on Staffing in University Libraries - March, 1991.
• Seminar on Library Automation and Networking problems and Prospects in March, 1996.
• UGC national seminar on "Digital Libraries and establishment of Institutional Repositories" , 23–24 March 2007

Oriental Research Institute

Sri Venkateswara Oriental Research Institute was started in July, 1939 by the Management of Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams with a view that it should be a first-rate Research and Training Centre with appropriate divisions for the study of Sanskrit and other languages of the Hindu religion and Philosophy and of Hindu culture generally. Under the Management of Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams, the Oriental Research Institute published sixteen volumes of the Oriental Journal and about sixty-four books in Sanskrit (20), English (8), Telugu (19) Tamil (17) under three series named Sri Venkateswara Oriental Series, Sri Venkateswara Oriental Institute Studies and Sri Visistadvaita Sampradaya Granthamala, covering the areas of Kosa, Dharmasastra, Vyakarana, Scientific literature like Mathematics, Saiva, Vaikhamala and Pancaratra Agamas, Vedanta, Kavya, Stotra and Psychology. The Bharatakosa by M.R. Kavi and the History of Sanskrit Literature by M. Krishnamachariar Published from this Institute have become indispensable basic tools of research in Sanskrit Literate 'and literacy criticism. The Tenth All India Oriental Conference in 1940 and the Fourth Session of Sanskrit Vishva Parish at in 1955 were held in Tirupati under the auspices of the Institute. It is also a designated 'Manuscript Conservation Centre' (MCC) under the National Mission for Manuscripts.

The Library of the Institute contains 16,948 manuscripts and 42,000 printed books. Each book in the library is purchased selectively on consideration of its utility in the research activities of the Institute covering all the fields of Indian tradition.

SVU computer centre

The S.V.U.Computer Centre is established during the year 1984, with the objects to provide services to the students, staff and research scholars of the university. In a University, Computer Centre occupies a Prime Position. It is an active academic place, providing Computational requirements for the entire University Community and a place for Software development activities. It is a nucleus of internet services. It is also undertaking Teaching of Post-Graduate and certificate courses.

College Detail View