Skip Navigation Links
About Us
Our Services
Course we Deal
By Career
Contact Us
Home >> State Detail >> University List >> International Institute of Information Technology, Bangalore
International Institute of Information Technology, Bangalore
The International Institute of Information Technology, Bangalore , abbreviated to IIIT-B, is a graduate school in India. Founded in 1999, it offers M.Tech., MS (Research) and PhD programs in the field of Information Technology. In February 2005, IIIT-B was conferred Deemed University status under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act 1956.

IIIT-Bangalore is promoted by the Government of Karnataka and the IT industry. IIIT-Bangalore is managed by a Governing Body with N. R. Narayana Murthy, Chief Mentor of Infosys, as the Chairperson.


IIIT-B was instituted on September 15, 1999 as the Indian Institute of Information Technology with its campus located at ITPL. The institute functioned at ITPL for the first four years. In August 2003, IIIT-B relocated to its present campus at Electronics City. IIIT-B was founded after taking inspiration from the other well established Institutes of National Importance (INI) in India. These INI's include the Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), National Institutes of Technology (NITs) and the Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs).

Initially, the institute offered Post Graduate Diplomas in Information Technology. Upon becoming a Deemed University in January 2005, the institute began conferring students with the degree of Master of Technology. The name of the institute was changed to International Institute of Information Technology before becoming a university(in 2004).


IIIT-B is located in Bangalore in the Electronic City zone, which houses major electronics and IT corporations that include Infosys, Wipro, Siemens, Hewlett-Packard, General Electric, Flextronics, and STPI (Software Technology Parks of India).

Address: IIIT-Bangalore, 26/c,Opp. Infosys (Gate 1), Electronics City, Hosur Road, Bangalore, 560100.


IIIT-B is a not-for-profit society registered under the Government of Karnataka Act.The institute is governed by a board comprising Mr. N. R. Narayana Murthy as Chairman, Prof. S Sadagopan (Founder Director), Prof. Pankaj Chandra,Director IIMB, Ms. Neelam Dhawan , Managing Director of Hewlett-Packard India, Mr.Gautam Hegde, Managing Director of Backend Bangalore Pvt Ltd.,Mr.Manish Khera, CEO of FINO (Financial Information Network & Operations Ltd),Prof.Jitendra Malik, Department of EECS, University of California at Berkeley, Mr.Ashok Kumar C Manoli, IAS, Principal Secy to Govt., Information Technology & Bio Technology, Science & Technology, Karnataka,Mr.Som Mittal, Former Managing Director of Digital/Compaq and chief executive with Wipro.,Mr.B.V. Naidu, Group CEO of VANPIC and Vice Chairman, Matrix Exports, Hyberbad, Ms.R Rajalakshmi, Director, STPI Bangalore & Development Commissioner - for IT/ITES SEZs in Karnataka, Mr.K Subrahmaniam, Mr. M N Vidyashankar, IAS, Secretary to Government, Department of Information Technology, Biotechnology and Science & Technology, Dr.Praveen Vishakantaiah, President - Intel India


Every year about 5000 applications are received, out of which about 300 students (around 150 in each year) are enrolled in the M. Tech. (2 year full time) degree program. These students are selected through an All India Entrance Examination out of about two thousand applicants from all over the country. The PhD program was started in August 2005. There are nine PhD students and six MS (Research) students registered with IIIT-Bangalore.


As of August 2011 over 1300 alumni have graduated in the eleven convocations held so far.

Research activities

Government and industry funded labs functioning at IIIT Bangalore include Intel Planet Lab, Honeywell Control Lab, Intel Community PC Lab, HP IMS Lab, Siemens Vision Lab and HP Cluster Computing Lab.

Research projects funded by the government and by industry include ICT for development funded by the Department of Information Technology of the Government of India, the Telematics Project funded by the Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India, ICT for Development funded by Microsoft, ICT Cluster Study funded by the Liverhume Trust, Cluster Computing in University Environment funded by HP, Community PC Initiatives funded by Intel, and MONSOON & INCITE projects of the European Union.

IIIT-Bangalore is developing Research Labs:

• Wireless Network Lab
• Mobile Computing and IMS Innovation Lab
• Power line Communication Lab
• Computing Systems Lab
• Centre for Spatial Information Sciences
• Open Systems Laboratory
• Software Design Laboratory

IIIT-Bangalore offers three Degree programs, one Diploma program and many Certifications:

Degree Programs

• M.Tech
• MS by Research
• Phd


IIIT B offers an M.Tech in Information Technology. Students can opt for specialization in either of the following streams

• Computer Science
• Networking and Communication
• Databases and Information Systems
• Embedded systems
• Software Engineering
• IT and Society
• Geographic Information Science (GIS)

Students must pursue four courses in the stream that they choose. There are a number of mandatory courses that a student needs to take which is irrespective of the stream chosen by the student. Students can choose the optional courses from their second semester.


• The minimum qualification for any of the programs is a 4 year bachelor degree in Engineering. MSc and MCA students are also eligible to take any course in IIIT-B
• Admission for M.Tech,MS and PhD program is done by an Online exam followed by Personnel Interview. People with good GATE or GRE score cards can apply directly without appearing for written test.
• Admission for Diploma and Certifications follows a Personnel Interview.Admission Process


Scholarships are available for exceptional candidates who get selected for programs at IIIT-B, sponsored by industry.


Class of 2011: GE, ABB, Intel, Infosys, Siemens and AMD.

Class of 2012: ABB, Infosys, Siemens and SocGen.

College Detail View