Skip Navigation Links
About Us
Our Services
Course we Deal
By Career
Contact Us
Home >> State Detail >> University List >> Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur
Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur
The Indian Institute of Information Technology Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur (IIITDM Jabalpur) is an Indian Institute of Information Technology and a deemed university in Jabalpur that focuses on Design and Manufacturing.


The Indian Institute of Information Technology-Design and Manufacturing, was established in year 2005 by the Government of India under the Indian Societies Registration Act, for imparting skills to engineering students who can use IT in the field of Design and Manufacturing.

Commonly known as IIIT-DM Jabalpur, it is a part of the IIIT league along with Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management, Gwalior, Indian Institute of Information Technology, Allahabad, and Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Kanchipuram.

Indo-Japanese Collaboration

The IIIT DM Jabalpur - Japan collaboration is an aspect of a wider partnership between Japan and India. The Institute is being developed under this partnership as an Institute which focuses on using Information Technology to implement Design and Manufacturing.

During his trip to India in April, 2005 the Prime Minister of Japan, Mr. Junichiro Koizumi signed an agreement with Dr. Manmohan Singh, the Prime Minister of India “to make every effort to collaborate towards the development of the Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design & Manufacturing Jabalpur”.[1] As a precursor Dr Manmohan Singh's visit to Japan in December 2006, a team headed by Shri Sudeep Banerjee visited Tokyo in November 2006. It was decided that the following team from Japan would work out the cooperation modalities and methodologies for assisting the new Institute

• Manabu Kiuchi, Emeritus Fellow, University of Tokyo: Overall Program Leader
• Yoshimo Ito, Emeritus Fellow, Tokyo Institute of Technology: Program Leader for the courses of Mechanical Engineering
• Takashi Nanya, Professor, University of Tokyo: Program Leader for the courses of Electronics & Communication Engineering
• Hiroshi Suzuki, Executive Director, GE (Energy), Japan: Program Leader for the courses in Computer Science & Engineering

For effective implementation of this collaboration, Government of Japan has formed a consortium of six universities and six industries.

Participant Universities: University of Tokyo, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tohoku University, Kyushu University, Shibaura Institute of Technology, Kanagawa Institute of Technology.

Participant Industries: Hitachi, Toshiba, Amada, Okuma, Sumitomo Metals and GE Energy. It was also agreed that faculty members from the consortium institutes/universities will come to India and will help the Institute in the teaching of advanced level courses in these areas.

The Memorandum of Cooperation was signed during the visit of the Indian Prime Minister to Japan in December 2006.

Courses offered

The institute offers undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral level degrees in Computer Science and Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. It also offers a unique Liberal Design Program which offers a Master of Design degree.


Undergraduate Students are admitted to these courses on the basis of the All India Rank in the All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE). For admissions to PG level courses, the GATE (for M.Tech. programs)/CEED (Common Entrance Examination for Design) scores of candidates are considered along with the CPI (or Equivalent Grading System, e.g. CGPA) maintained throughout the Graduate course undertaken by the student.


The Institute was alloted a campus space of 260 acres (1.1 km2) in 2006 following the appointment of Dr. Sanjeev Bhargava as director. Close to the Domestic Airport and Dumna Nature Reserve.

Construction of the Core lab Complex and Hostels started thereafter and was completed in June 2009, following the Institute being granted Deemed-to-be University status that month.

The campus also includes two hostels.

College Detail View