Skip Navigation Links
About Us
Our Services
Course we Deal
By Career
Contact Us
Home >> State Detail >> University List >> Homi Bhabha National Institute
Homi Bhabha National Institute
The Homi Bhabha National Institute, (HBNI) is a prestigious Indian deemed university, which unifies 10 Constituent Institutions (CIs) :

• 4 Premier centers
• 6 Premier autonomous institutes,

each with a well established history of excellence, under a single research-driven framework.


HBNI Building at Bhabha Atomic Research Center, Mumbai Prime minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh, announced the approval of the government of India for setting up of HBNI on June 4, 2005. It is named after the late Indian physicist Homi J. Bhabha. The HRD Ministry of the government of India declared Homi Bhabha National Institute (HBNI) a deemed to be University along with ten Constituent Institutions (CIs).

HBNI and its ten CI's are among the very few
institutions of excellence chosen by the Parliament of India to be kept out of the purview of reservations in the Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Admission) Bill, 2006, which increases the reserved seats to 49.5 per cent in prestigious educational institutes like Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs), Indian Institute of Science (IISc).

The present director of the institute is Dr. Ravi Grover.

Current Students

• OCES (Orientation Course for Engineers and Scientists) Trainees at Bhabha Atomic Research Center and affiliated Training Schools
• DGFS (DAE Graduate fellowship scheme) Ph.D Scholars
• Junior/Senior Research Fellows
• Students at Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai
• Students at National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar
• Employees of Department of Atomic Energy

OCES and DGFS candidates are offered employment in DAE as Scientific Officer - C after culmination of their course work.


• For science and engineering : PGDip, M.Phil, M.Sc(Engg), M.Tech and Ph.D.
• For Health Sciences : at Tata Memorial Centre : DM (Medical Oncology), M.Ch.(Surgical Oncology), MD (Pathology), MD (Anesthesia), MD (Radiotherapy), MD (Radio-diagnosis) and Ph.D.(Health Sciences, Epidemiology)


R&D Centers in HBNI • Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai.
• Indira Gandhi Center for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam near Chennai
• Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore
• Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata


• Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata
• Institute for Plasma Research, Gandhinagar
• Harishchandra Research Institute, Allahabad
• Tata Memorial Centre, Mumbai
• Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai
• Institute of Physics, Bhubaneshwar (National Institute for Science Education and Research, Bhubaneshwar is a part of Institute of Physics. Hence, it also indirectly comes under this university).
College Detail View