Skip Navigation Links
About Us
Our Services
Course we Deal
By Career
Contact Us
Home >> State Detail >> University List >> Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth
Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth
Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth (PDKV or PKV) at Akola, in Maharashtra, India is a well known agricultural university in the Vidarbha region. The University is entrusted with the responsibility of agricultural education, research and extension education along with breeder and foundation seed programme. Its jurisdiction includes all eleven districts of Vidarbha namely Akola, Amravati, Bhandara, Buldhana, Chandrapur, Gadchiroli, Gondia, Nagpur, Washim and Yavatmal.

The Central Campus is at Akola while the another major campus is at Nagpur


The University has over a total 3425 hectares of cultivable land under its possession for conducting various research, field trials in addition to seed multiplication programme. This university covers the need of a wide range of climatic zones varying from Wet Humid Rice zone of East gradually ending with Arid Cotton and Millet Zone of west. Similarly its Northern districts form Southern limit for Wheat cultivation in India. In past this university has done significant contribution to research work especially in cotton (PKV-2 cotton hybrid) , sorghum (kharif hybrids), pulses (TAU- series of Black gram), oilseed (TAG-24 Groundnut variety; few linseed varieties), watershed management, dryland management, Mandarin orange cultivation.

Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi
Vidyapeeth at Akola, Maharashtra
(PDKV) - Agricultural University.
• 20 Research stations
• 24 All India Co-ordinated Projects
• 16 ad-hoc schemes are under operation
• 28 Non Plan and 2 Plan Research Projects
• Biotechnology Centre • Nagarjuna Medicinal and Aromatic Plant park
• Biodiversity Park
• Maharajbagh Zoo

Agricultural Research Stations

1. Central Research Station: Akola
2. Central Trial Campus, Vani Rambhapur, Akola
3. National Agril Res. Project, Yavatmal
4. National Agril Res. Project, Sindewahi, District Chandrapur; Paddy Research Station
5. Kharif Cereal and Pulse Research and Training Project: Mhali, Amgaon Dist- Gondia
6. Regional Research Centre, Amravati
7. Agri. Research Station, Sonapur Dist. Gadchircoli
8. Agri. Research Station, Washim
9. Agri. Research Station, Achalpur Dist- Amravati
10. Agri. Research Station, Buldana
11. Agri. College Campus, Nagpur
12. Regional Fruit Research Station Katol Dist Nagpur
13. Agri. Research Station, Tharsa Dist. Nagpur
14. Agri. Research Station, Sakoli
15. Agril Ressearch Station, NavegaonBan Dist- Bhandara
16. Agril Ressearch Station, Patur Road, Akola
17. Betelwine Research Station, Ramtek
18. Agril Ressearch Station, Kutki, tal-hinganghat, Dist-Wardha
19. Agril Ressearch Station, Ekarjuna Dist. Chandrapur
20. Betelwine Research Station: Akot Dist. Akola:


PDKV grants Bachelors, Masters and Doctoral degrees in Agricultural Sciences and Agricultural Engineering & Technology. Admission to all the degree, Post Graduate and Doctorate degree programmes are made through MCAER, Pune.

Undergraduate degree programmes

• Bachelor of Business Management. (Agril.)
• B.Sc. Horticulture
• B.Sc. Forestry
• B.Sc. Agriculture
• B.Tech. (Agril. Engineering)
• B. Sc. Agril. Biotechnology
Master degree programmes

M.Sc. Agriculture

• Plant Physiology
• Seed Technology
• Land Resource Management
• Agronomy
• Genetics & Plant Breeding
• Agricultural Economics
• Agril. Extension Education • Animal Husbandry
• Dairy Science
• Agril. Entomology
• Horticulture
• Plant Pathology
• Agril. Chemistry
• Soil Science–(LRM)

M.Sc. Agricultural Biotechnology

M.Tech. Agricultural Engineering
• Agril. Process Engineering
• Farm Power and Machinery
• Irrigation & Drainage Engineering
• Soil and Water Conservation
• Renewable Energy Source
Doctoral degree programme

Ph.D. Agriculture

• Agronomy
• Genetics & Plant Breeding
• Plant Physiology
• Agricultural Economics
• Agril. Extension Education
• Animal Husbandry and Dairying
• Agricultural Entomology
• Horticulture
• Plant Pathology
• Agricultural Chemistry & Soil Science

Ph.D. Agricultural Biotechnology

Ph.D. Agricultural Engineering

• Soil and Water Conservation Engg
• Irrigation and Drainage Engg
• Farm Power and Machinery
• Agril. Process Engg

Lower Education

There are 5 Agril.School for lower education located at

• Buldana
• Hiwara
• Mul-Maroda
• Nimbi
• Sawangi
• Warud

Extension education

Imparting of extension education is one of the mandatory functions of the University.

Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK)

University has 11 Krishi Vigyan Kendras(KVK),which undertakes training and Demonstrations for the benefit of farmers.

. No. Address of Krishi Vigyan Kendras Telephone Number Office Fax
1. Krishi Vigyan Kendra PO :Badnera ( Durgapur ) Amaravati – 444 701 0721- 2580606 0721- 2580606
2. Krishi Vigyan Kendra “Chirantan” Madhuban Colony Camp Amaravati-444 602 0721-2700342/2662405 0721- 2670275
3. Krishi Vigyan Kendra PO :Sakoli - 441802 Bhandara 07186- 236343 07186- 236343
4. Krishi Vigyan Kendra PO : Jalgaon Jamod - 443402 Buldhana District 07266- 221620/221449 07266- 221620
5. Krishi Vigyan Kendra PO: Sindhewahi Chandrapur - 441 222 07178- 288737 07178- 288225
6. Krishi Vigyan Kendra PO : Sonapur Gadchiroli - 442 605 07132- 222621 -
7. Krishi Vigyan Kendra Hiwara PO: Ratnara Gondia - 441 614 07182- 280113 -
8. Krishi Vigyan Kendra Post Box No:2 Shankarnagar Post Nagpur - 440 010 07103- 275549 07103- 275529
9. Krishi Vigyan Kendra PO : Selsura Wardha - 422001 07152- 287085
- 10. Krishi Vigyan Kendra PO : RisodLoni Road Washim – 444506 07251- 226503 07251- 222462
11. Krishi Vigyan Kendra Waghapur Road PO :Yavatmal - 445001 07232- 241745 07232- 248235
'T & V Scheme' Training and Visit Scheme

• Nagpur
• Sindewahi
• Yavatmal

The Directorate of Extension Education of the University has been recognized by the Ministry of Agriculture, Govt. of India, as the Center of Excellence for imparting training on Dryland Agriculture Technology.

Institution Village Linkage Program (IVLP): The pilot project on technology assessment and refinement through IVLP sponsored by ICAR,New Delhi is being implemented by the University in the village Gorwha, Taluka Barshitakli, District Akola, since 1995.


Maharashtra State government decided to establish Maharashtra State Agril. University at Rahuri in Western Maharashtra by end of 1966. This provoked an angry response from citizens of Vidarbha, who viewed it as a form of ignorance. On 17 August 1967 in Akola, thousands of people demonstrated against this government's decision finally resulting in of the massive violent agitation of the Students with many losses of many lives *[3]. Finally this university was started on 20 October, 1969 named after the illustrious son of Vidarbha Dr. Panjabrao (alias Bhausaheb) Deshmukh, who was the Minister for Agriculture, Government of India, as Panjabrao Krishi Vidyapeeth. It was renamed as Dr. Panjabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth from 15 November 1995.

College of Agriculture, Nagpur located in heartland of the city is one of the 5 oldest Agriculture colleges that started in 1905.

Vice Chancellor

At present Dr. V. M. Mayande is the honourable Vice Chancellor of University since May, 2007. His term will be for 5 years till 2012.

Previous Vice Chancellors

• Dr. L.N. Bongirwar was the first Vice Chancellor for the term of five years from 15-10-1969.
• Dr. N. Gopalakrishnan (around 1978)
• Dr. H.B. Ulemale (1986–1989) (DOB; 26-1-1944)
• Dr. P.W. Amin (1990–1993; (expired 2006)); specialization in the field of Entomology
• Dr. B.G. Bhatkal (1993–1996); specialization in the field of Agronomy
• Dr. G.M. Bharad (1996–1999)(DOB; 21-1-1941); specialization in the field of Watershed Management
• Dr. M.L. Madan (1999–2002) ;(DOB 1-1-1939); specialization in the field of Animal Husbandry
• Dr. S.A. Nimbalkar (2002–2007); specialization in the field of Entomology
College Detail View